/ 

PASSWORD RESET


REGISTER



Technology news site

Snapchat Update Lets You Delete Sent Messages

Share

Snap today made an update of a new feature for its flagship Snapchat app, one that allows users to manually delete messages for everyone in individual or group chats.

According to a statement issued by the company, and it will work even when a message has been saved by other members of the conversation. As things stand, users can currently clear conversations from their own side, but if you send a message by mistake or send something that you regret, you can now elect to remove it for everyone in the conversation.

The new feature is simple to use. All you have to do is press on the message, photo, or video that you want to delete and then select the delete option on the pop-up. This will delete the content from the apps of everyone in the chat. Although, the recipients will get a notification telling them that the message has been deleted.

In the spirit of transparency, deleting sent messages and media in Snapchat will still notify the recipient or recipients that a sent message was removed — but not what was in it! Snapchat warns, however, that disappearing messages are no match for the power of a screenshot so don’t abuse your newly discovered unsend abilities.

Snapchat, has became known for its ephemeral messaging service that allows users to send self-deleting photos to friends. But it has been long since a new expanded -rich feature chat for its app was added to help encompassing text, voice, and video. This latest feature is built with the core values Snapchat in mind, as it gives users more control over the “permanence” of their messages.

The new features is in line with the privacy mechanism, which meets up with the GDPR rules according to CNBC which gives give users more control of their data — at least if you want something completely off of Snapchat’s logs and don’t want anyone to see it — so deleting it is the only options you can go for in order to keep your data safe from everyone but yourself.

The “delete chat” feature will be introduced around the world starting today, and will be landing on all platforms globally in the coming weeks.

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com