/ 

PASSWORD RESET


REGISTER



Technology news site

Uber Will Now Kick Off Riders With Low Ratings

Share

If you’re driver and your passengers complains of your poor and rude behavior could get you booted from Uber. The company has added “ratings-based rider deactivations” to its safety policy. Users can now get kicked off the app if they develop a “significantly below average rating.”

Those at risk of getting banned will first get a warning and different tips and advice in order to improve their rating. Also, they will be given a chance to improve their behavior too. Kate Parker, Uber’s head of safety brand and initiatives said,

“Riders may lose access to Uber if they develop a significantly below average rating. Riders will receive tips on how to improve their ratings, such as encouraging polite behavior, avoiding leaving trash in the vehicle and avoiding requests for drivers to exceed the speed limit. Riders will have several opportunities to improve their rating prior to losing access to the Uber apps,” she added.

“Respect is a two-way street, and so is accountability. Drivers have long been expected to meet a minimum rating threshold which can vary city to city. While we expect only a small number of riders to ultimately be impacted by ratings-based deactivations, it’s the right thing to do.”

To make sure everyone actually pays attention to Uber’s expectations of getting into a car or ordering food through its platform, everyone who uses Uber will see a large in-app message appear about the updated community guidelines. At some point you need to click “I understand” to continue onto the usual app. Uber wants to make it clear what they expect from everyone using the app for rides, bike rentals, restaurant pickups, and more.

The threat of deactivation is supposed to encourage better ridership and pinpoint users that consistently behave poorly, whether that’s leaving trash behind, using vulgar or aggressive language, or forcing drivers to speed or run red lights.

The post didn’t provide a specific rating as the cutoff point for an Uber customer in peril of having his or her account deactivated, just as the company hasn’t publicly outlined the threshold for driver deactivation. The updated community guidelines, Starting today, the guidelines are laid out in a clearer, more visual format with simpler language with an emphasis on “safety and respect for all.” For anyone who wants the full text, that still exists.

So if you are keeping up good behaviour and all, then this news has nothing to do with you. The feature is rolling out in some part of the world but didn’t state when is rolling out to all part

Uber did not state when it would other regions around the world.

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com