Surprise surprise, Netflix has recently announced that you can now stop auto playing video previews. Prior to the announcement, users who logged in to the app were greeted with an auto playing video (usually suggested for you to watch) that may cause an unwanted sound.
The first thing you need to know about the new setting is that it is on a per profile basis and is available at this time on their main site which means that you would need to login to the service and then your profile for it to be applied as a setting to all your profile on different devices.
Some people find this feature helpful. Others not so much.
— Netflix (@netflix) February 6, 2020
Netflix has posted a way you can do this on their website but just see below if you don’t have the time to visit their website.
Here’s how to do it;
- Sign In to Netflix from a web browser.
- Select Manage Profiles from the menu.
- Select the profile you want to update and that’s it
Just in case you apply the update and you still can’t see it applied to other devices immediately, Netflix acknowledges that it may take a whole before propagating on other devices.