According to WhatsApp, they will officially restrict the functionalities of its messaging platform on May 15th. The access to read and reply messages on the messenger app becomes finite to restricted users.
Although restricted users are still allowed to access essential features such as seeing notifications and receiving calls, WhatsApp said the functionality would only be available for a short time. According to WhatsApp, functionalities like receiving calls are exclusively accessible for few weeks.
WhatsApp messenger interface is designed with an end-to-end encryption algorithm — chats transpired between two people are accessible and visible to the parties involved.
WhatsApp acknowledges it usually shares content with its parent company — WhatsApp noted that message data under its business messenger platform is not disseminated but stored under Facebook’s servers or cloud storage. WhatsApp’s parent company usually uses such data to process its advertising business.
Nonetheless, since Facebook acquired the messenger company in 2016, WhatsApp keeps permitting its parent company to access its data, such as phone numbers, with free-will.
WhatsApp parent company, Facebook, also commented on the matter with further information about its flexible policy — restricted user’s account will not be deleted from the messaging platform. After the due date (May 15th), users will still get to agree to WhatsApp’s terms of service.