WhatsApp’s View Once is now available for users, as the quick messenger app releases this ephemeral feature for its entire user base. View Once enables the media files that you send to disappear after the recipient has seen it, while the rest of your chat remains the same.
This feature has been developing in the WhatsApp beta app since the previous June — WhatsApp chief executive personally revealed how View Once development has progressed. Although Mark Zuckerberg didn’t disclose when its instant message ephemeral feature will be available.
View Once on WhatsApp is a simplified tool that requires a click before you send the message. WhatsApp designed this feature as a transparent tool that appears as “1” (circled by a split-seconds timer) — it is positioned close to the send button.
For contrast, after you have selected the media file you want to send, click the “1” button next to the send button to activate View Once, and the ephemeral feature activates after your recipient has opened your message. Techbooky suggests you use this feature whenever you are chatting with the likes of the recipient that is likely to capture a screenshot of your message.
It is worth noting that activating this feature also notifies your recipient of the View Once message you sent that will be deleted instantly. Still, a message that has View Once enabled, does not restrict users from capturing screenshots.
Expect a notification whenever your recipient captures a screenshot — neither does this hinder a View Once enabled message from deleting, per WhatsApp announcements. This approach of deleting messages instantly by auto addresses “Disappearing Messages” that deletes messages as well, but it takes seven working days to activate.
Several WhatsApp users have reportedly switched to other messaging platforms like Telegram that now accepts more than a thousand users to appears live on a video chat.
WhatsApp expects a significant increase in its user base whereby several other active users on the quick messenger app have been anticipating View Once official release.
Now, WhatsApp users can use its ephemeral concept to share confidential information such as, WiFi passwords, sensitive photos, and other kinds of confidential content that requires the recipient to View Once.