Ever hit send on an email and regretted it immediately? Now you can undo it even on your Android phone’s Gmail app—The feature, which is already available on the web version of Gmail, as well as Google’s Inbox app for Android and iOS, is now available on the Gmail app version 8.7 and up, according to Android Police.
The ‘Undo Send’ feature has been in Gmail Labs for many years since it was introduced in March 2009. It finally arrived on the Web in 2015, and has finally made its way to Android now. Another feature that Gmail recently introduced on mobile was Confidential Mode, which essentially allows user to send emails to others that will self-destruct after a point of time.
How it works.
The feature works in a similar manner like its desktop variant, but there is no functionality to manually set the time slot for cancellation, or even disable it. Once you send a message, a snackbar at the bottom shows you a ‘sending’ message with the option to cancel it while it’s sending. Once it’s sent, Gmail then shows the ‘sent’ message with a new option to ‘undo’ it as well. This is showing up for all users on Gmail version 8.7, and if you can’t see this feature, head to the Play Store and see if there is a pending update.
Google explained that when sending mails from Gmail to Gmail—it can be undone almost instantaneously while unsending from other clients may leave the email readable for a few minutes before it disappears, so take heed before you end up being a sloppy workaholic tonight or whatever the case may be.