Instagram is expanding on its already-existing collection of features by enabling users to create libraries of posts that can be shared with friends. Instagram announces via Twitter that you can now save content into “collaborative collections,” you and your friends can both view and contribute to.
In 2017, Instagram introduced its Pinterest-like collections tool allowing users to save and categorize posts. This feature adds a twist by enabling your friends to upload their own posts. You and your friends can save posts from Instagram’s feed, Explore page, and even direct messages, according to Adam Mosseri, CEO of Instagram, on his IG Updates channel.
To take advantage of the feature, click the bookmark icon in the bottom right corner of the post you want to save, choose the option to start a new collaborative collection, give it a name, and then turn on the option that reads Allow friends to join this collection. You can add up to 250 people to your collection.
According to Instagram, users may also choose to create a collaborative collection from chat. After that, everyone in the chat will be able to add or remove images from the shared collection, sounds like a fun way to exchange hilarious posts or brainstorm ideas with the ones you love.
However, keep in mind that for private accounts adding a post to a collaborative collection, only those who follow the account can access it. Also, Instagram notes that a post will be removed from your collection if the creator decides to delete the post. It’s worth noting that once a collaborative collection has been formed, it cannot be made private. Likewise, once a private collection has been built, it cannot be shared with others.