Vine as we know it is gone but your information is still with the Twitter owned company and might not be secure. Twitter is sending out a mass email to Vine users saying that a bug may have briefly exposed their account details to third parties but that unlikely that the information have been misused. Vine has sent out a statement saying;
“We have already notified all affected account holders for whom we have a verified email address on file, so if you weren’t notified, you most likely weren’t affected.
While we have no information indicating that any user information impacted by this incident has been misused, it’s always a good idea to be cautious of emails or text messages received from unknown senders. Please keep in mind that Vine will only send communications from @twitter.com, and we will never send emails with attachments or request your password by email.”
This bug only affected Vine’s archive which can still be viewed on the web even though you can’t do any new uploads. But it looks like it’s all fine now but as Twitter says, you should stay alert and beware of fraudulent messages.
Here’s a copy of the email Twitter is sending out to Vine account holders
Dear Vine account holder,
We are writing to let you know that we were alerted to — and immediately fixed — a bug that affected the Vine Archive for less than 24 hours. This bug had the potential to expose the email address and phone number associated with a Vine account to third parties under certain circumstances.
In our investigation, we discovered that the email address and phone number linked to your account were exposed. We want to emphasize that this information can’t directly be used to access your account, and we have no information indicating that it has been misused. We take these incidents very seriously, and we’re sorry this occurred.
As a security best practice, we recommend that you be cautious if you receive emails or text messages from unknown senders. Please keep in mind that Vine will only send you communications from @twitter.com, and we will never send emails with attachments or request your password by email.