WhatsApp’s ephemeral concept is getting more practical and stylish as the instant message app continues to build its services to be more flexible. This time around, WhatsApp is focusing on Disappearing Messages, building more options other than the typical ephemera initiative that takes seven working days to be effective.
Disappearing Messages launched on WhatsApp last year, and this is the first time the instant messaging app is tweaking this feature. A few weeks ago, WhatsApp rolled out a similar ephemera feature dubbed View Once — although it is exclusive for media files and does delete the message immediately after the recipient sees it.
WhatsApp beta is currently developing Disappearing Messages via its Beta platform — adding more options to Disappearing Message timing that ranges from 24 hours up to three months. WABetainfo reportedly revealed this update is currently available for Android beta users.
This depicts Android users are likely to use this new Disappearing upgrade when it rolls out. Per WABetainfo’s report, Disappearing Message now has three optional choices that either deletes messages by either selecting 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days timing to delete a message by auto.
Disappearing Message currently has a limited 7days option which is applicable to chats and not by messages. For context, when you activate your messages to Disappear, the entire conversation history gets deleted by auto when the time is up.
While View Once seems to make Disappearing Messages more flexible, although it autonomously deletes messages after a view. And View Once is only applicable to selected messages in chats. Although WhatsApp users thought View Once will be added as an option for Disappearing Messages until it was fully developed to be independent.
Extending WhatsApp’s timing for Disappearing Messages still makes the ephemeral concept limited, whereby after activating messages to disappear older messages will be available after the selected time has elapsed.
It’s worth noting that Disappearing Messages does not restrict the recipient from saving messages and media locally — as well as forwarded messages.